2015 SF Marathon Ambassador Team and Bay Breeze 10k Recap

So where I have I been these past few months? Lots of slacking on the writing. Let’s see where do I start?

I would like to announce that I have been selected to be a part of the 2015 San Francisco Marathon Ambassador team. This is my second year being an ambassador and it is an honor to be back.  I have much love for the race not only because I am a Bay Area native but  it was the first half marathon I raced back in 2013. I fell in love with running while training for this race two years ago.  Since then, I have completed two half marathons, lots of 10ks and a 5k race. I feel so lucky to be a part of the ambassador team this year . I am excited to see ambassadors from last year  and new ones like Jamie! I know that it’s going to be a blast!  And why yes, I do have a discount code to share. It’s TSFM2015TRICIA. Use it to save $25 on any of the races. It expires on June 1st or whenever the race sells out.  What are are waiting for? You know you want to drink the kool-aid and run a fantastic race in July!

I have been working to get back into shape. Last February 14th, I ran a 10K. It was the Bay Breeze Race by Brazen in San Leandro.  I wasn’t going into this race like I was going to break any records. I used it more as a training race and see how my endurance was. The 10K race started at 8:15 am. Miles 1-4 I was hitting my target pace of 12:00 – 13:00 per minute. The course is flat and runs along the San Leandro Marina out on the Bay Trail. When you hit mile four you get the gravel / dirt path on the course.This is where I managed to be Klutzy Magoo and landed on my right ankle wrong. Nothing serious but I was careful not to do any damage and took it slow the last two miles. My final time was 1:25:13. Not my fastest 10K but I am fine with it as a gage to see where I was at in my training. Brazen always puts on a great race from the crowd support, aid stations, snacks after the race and the medal.

I was most excited to finally meet Jessica and her family at this race. We have been communicating via text for the past year.. It was so good to give Jessica a hug and hang out with her family and her the whole morning. Also, congrats to J for winning 2nd in her age group!! So happy for her!

So my next race is on April 26th . It’s the San Luis Obispo Half Marathon. It will be my first road half marathon since last June and I am looking forward to toeing the line.  I have learned that running shows me that I am capable of much more than my mind thinks it can accomplish.  All I have to do is work hard and never give up.

 

 

2 thoughts on “2015 SF Marathon Ambassador Team and Bay Breeze 10k Recap

    • Thank you lil buddy! I am glad & excited I get to scream like a 13 year old at you as you finish strong, give you a sweaty hug and high five at the end. take care of yourself !=)

Leave a Reply

