Aside

What The SF Marathon Means to Me

The San Francisco Marathon is thirty-two days away.  The race holds a special place in my heart.  It was my first half marathon.  Some say, you never really forget your first race. I look back on my first SF Marathon with great pride . It was the race that made me believe that I was a runner.  Most importantly,  it was where I celebrated life and my health.  Even during the challenging parts of the race,  I never felt so alive and happy to be running through the streets of my hometown.

It can be a little dramatic to think that a race can change a person’s life, but I have to say that it does. Running opened the doors to many possibilities.  I am not the same person that I was last year. My outlook on life is brighter. I feel like the cup is half full instead of empty. I still have some challenging days, but I take it all in stride.  I have come so far and don’t see myself stopping.

This year, the journey has come full circle. Not only do I get to run the second half but it has been an honor to be a part of the ambassador team.  I don’t have any time goals. Like last year, I will be celebrating at The SF Marathon another year of good health and life.

Happy Running,

Trish

Leave a Reply

