Aside

Training and Some Thoughts

Not sure what to title this.  I just have some deep thoughts to get down.  May not make sense to some but will try.

The thing about training, is that you learn a lot about yourself during your time on the road or trails.  Heck, you are out there for so long that you begin to start thinking deep thoughts about your journey. Case in point, this training cycle for The SF Marathon has been a bit different. Some of my long runs have not been with my group due to starting at the crack of dawn so I can attend family functions on the weekends. I do miss my group but being by myself on the road has lead me to think about life.  I never thought that I could run without music for eight or ten miles. Yet, I have and it feels good . Some thoughts I have:  how thankful I am to be able to run, figuring out how to work through a specific project I have been dealing with at my job or dreaming of what I am going to eat after running through the streets.

There have been training runs that have not been ideal. Either my stomach is angry or just feeling crappy.  As much as I want to quit at mile two, I dig deep and just keep going. Call me stubborn, crazy or determined.. Training your mind is essential if not as important when racing.  It will get you through the challenging parts of the race or when you aren’t feeling that you can’t take another step.   It takes a lot of guts to complete a run or any activity when your mind is telling you to quit.  Every time you push through the negative thoughts, you become stronger. Little by little your brain and heart believe that you are tougher than you think you are.  This is what I have been learning about myself this cycle. I am capable of much more even though things are not quite ideal.

Running like life is full of ups and downs.  You have to keep going in order to fully discover your inner strength and what you are capable of. It is then you will discover your greatness.

symbolic500

 

Happy Running,
Trish

4 thoughts on “Training and Some Thoughts

  1. haha – i like to think i contemplate the universe while running, but i’m usually in the “dreaming of what I am going to eat after running through the streets…” camp. I enjoyed your post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

