Who do you run for?

Who do you run for? Is it for someone or yourself?  For me, it’s for a group of people who I call my race crew. Obese or healthy, these people have been with me through thick and thin (no pun intended)..

I am very lucky to have what I call a race crew. Kind of like an entourage, but better.   I am grateful for all their encouragement and support. They provide me with the fire to be my best. They cheer me up when training is not going so well. They make me laugh when I am injured. They travel far distances just to see cheer me on at the finish line.  They make signs, ring cow bells and show up at races with no questions asked.  These people are my heart and world. I would do anything for them.  My crew sends me texts messages to wish me good luck on a race or prepares my favorite post-race meal as a celebration of finishing. It’s the little thing that matter to me.

I don’t think my crew knows how much they inspire me to keep reaching for my goals and moving forward.  I think of  all of them when I am out running. I dedicate my miles to them because without them, I wouldn’t be the person I am.  So to my race crew, thank you for being a part of my life. This run is for you..

photo

 

Who do you run for?

Want to run The San Francisco Marathon? Use discount code DSC10TSFM2014A82 to save $10 on any of the races!

 

Leave a Reply

