Taking it to the track

track

One of my running goals for this year is to get faster.  The only dilemma I have is that SF Road Runners schedule track workouts on Tuesdays and I can’t attend due to my schedule.  So what better way than to crash the track party with Run 365 , the official training program of The San Francisco Marathon   at Kezar Stadium last Wednesday.  With anything running related, I always get nervous because of my inexperience and my turtle pace. I also knew if I want to improve then I have to put in the work.  My only goal was not to puke or die during the workout.

It was rainy too but nothing stopped me from joining in.The workout consisted of a two lap warm up on the outside part  of Kezar. I kept a pretty good pace with the warm up. I pushed myself to keep in the middle of the pack. I did take one small walk break towards the end. After the warm up came the static stretching drills lined up in rows of three.  The group finally made it onto the track to do skipping and butt kick drills on the 100 meter straightway of the track four times each way.   The final part of the workout was a timed mile. Four laps around the 400 meter circle.  This is what I was afraid of.  So off I went pushing myself and as the track coach shouted times, I just kept going. Not caring if I finished last.  It hurt. My lungs were burning and breathing was a little hard but I didn’t die. The pace was just about the same I keep .  I could do so much better. I have my work cut out for me but I know I can handle it.

Do you make time for track workouts?

What are your favorite drills?

Want to run The San Francisco Marathon? Use discount code DSC10TSFM2014A82 to save $10 on any of the races!

Leave a Reply

